6 comments on “Looking for alternatives to Gmail

    • I’m sure they will, but I move around quite a lot, so at each given time, my ISP is just whoever my current apartment is connected through. So I don’t know if it’s a good idea to get into a long-term relationship with any of them ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Some years ago I started to rent a web space account for a few euros per month and it has a one-click installer for various scripts, including *roundcube*, which I use for me and my wife. The initial configuration is somewhat counter-intuitive, but after that there’s hardly a reason to change anything.
    Also web service providers often provide complete backup, so you can backup all mails without fetching them through an email client.

    • I’ll probably do that eventually, but only when I’ll have more reasons to need my own server. I don’t think it’s worth it for me to pay a monthly fee for a server just for email.

  2. Good Point, I’m also looking for a solution. I just hate being a social network user .. since it’s just a waste of time (Unfortunately, it turns out that gmail is but another social network since it’s linked to google+)…

  3. Also, google is the worst when it comes to privacy, few years ago I’ve been using Arabic Google Ijabaat (with a different username, but the same email address). Also , I made sure that none can know my identity when answering and asking questions on Google answers.

    Once google+ release, some friends called me asking : ” I didn’t know that you are a ….” counting all my political, philosophical, belief thoughts… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    So, I opened my gmail, then got to my new google+ account, I found that all my anonymous data’ve been merged from my Google Ijabat, to my google+…. this is the worst thing that happened to me on the web.

    Untill now, google+ still sends me messages asking me to link my google+ to my youtube channel, so that my friends would be able to read my youtube crap … I say “No way”

Leave a Reply

